## ΛA- Lambda Alpha

## The Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania Chapter November 7, 1981

Fall 1976, under the leadership of Dr. Jesse A. Bryan (Alpha Epsilon), 12 young men joined to form an interest group that would seek to become members of the noble clan of **Kappa Alpha Psi**. After contacting International Headquarters, Dr. Bryan was notified that the young men would be under the guidance of the Delta Theta Chapter at Penn. State University. The brothers of Delta Theta journeyed to Bloomsburg State College, Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania and initiated the men into the Scrollers Club. Personal and health reasons caused six of the twelve men to discontinue the program. The remaining members — Brian Ford, William Shelton, Aaron Johnson, Wayne Whitaker, Anthony Montouth, and Alejandro Williams known as the "Dooms Day Squad" — pursued their goal. The winter of 1976 was rough with plenty of snow storms and the distance between Bloomsburg and State College, PA, a little over 90 miles, did not allow for much training to occur and thus extended the training period.

In April 1977 Ford, Johnson, Montouth, and Williams were initiated into the Delta Theta Chapter. Shelton followed in October 1977 and Whitaker in the Spring of 1978 (March 19). This was the beginning of the Delta Theta Swing Chapter at Bloomsburg State College. Two more lines were initiated under Delta Theta: Genesis '80: Ronald Brown and Brian Butcher; and Renaissance '81: Francisco Callado, Charles Wilson, Lamont Baines, Richard Traylor, Ricardo Youngblood, Alfred Black, Donald Tomes, Gerald Gay, Mark Mosely, Bryan Key, Byron Barksdale, Lewis Giles, John Dunn, Gregory Wright, and Eric Jenkins. The International Headquarters was petitioned and the Lambda Alpha Chapter was chartered November 7, 1981. The Lambda Alpha Chapter has been instrumental in the development of other chapters in Northeast Pennsylvania.