IO - Iota Omicron The Hofstra University Chapter February 23, 1979

In October 1977, a group of undergraduate men met for the purpose of forming a chapter of a national fraternity at Hofstra University, a predominately white private university in Hempstead, New York. Several fraternities were contacted; however, it was Brother Melvin Taylor of New York Alumni and Brother Herman Rollins of Brooklyn-Long Island Alumni who responded on several occasions to invitations to visit Hofstra University. From interaction with the visiting brothers, the group voted overwhelmingly to seek membership in the **Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.** The group adopted the name Genesis (the beginning) and on April 11, 1978, New York Alumni Chapter officially pledged the twenty members of Genesis in the Scroller Club of **Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.**

The probation period was primarily spent in the New York Alumni house under the direction of the Fordham University Kolony and the Iota Epsilon Chapter at Montclair State College in New Jersey. On May 31, 1978, the New York Alumni Chapter initiated eighteen of the Genesis Scrollers into the **Kappa Alpha PsiFraternity**.

The group petitioned the Grand Chapter and on February 23, 1979, Grand Polemarch Hiliary Holloway presented Iota Omicron its charter at Hofstra University. Accompanying the Grand Polemarch was Northeastern Polemarch Irving L. Briddell, Jr. Northeastern Province Vice-Polemarch Melvin Taylor and New York Alumni Polemarch Oliver W. Parsons. The charter members were Russell E. Morgan, Jr., Robert Crawford, Joseph A. Jones, Carl J. Crawford, Ronnie A. Reid, Willie Garrett, Timothy X. Williams, Ronald L. Knox, Stephen A. Greenside, Vincent B. Lewis, Jeffery D. Johnson, Carl A. Brockett. Dwight King, Yomon Mingia, Carey Richmond, Irvin E. Davis, Jr., and Joseph N. Springer, Jr. The first Polemarch was Russell E. Morgan, Jr.

Throughout the years, Iota Omicron has been influential at all levels of the Fraternity. Members have served and participated in C. Rodger Wilson Leadership Conferences, Northeastern Province Council Meetings and Grand Chapter Conclaves. Iota Omicron was instrumental in the reactivation and the expansion of chapters in New York State.

From 1989 to 2000, only fourteen new brothers were initiated in the Iota Omicron Chapter through its intake program. The low number of intakes during this period resulted in the chapter's membership falling below statutory minimums. In 1998, under the direction of Russell E. Morgan, the first Polemarch of Iota Omicron Chapter, the New York Alumni Chapter implemented a reactivation program for Iota Omicron. The chapter reorganized and reestablished relationship with Hofstra University officials, Greek letter organizations, and other student organizations. The membership slowly began to increase its membership and meet the chapter's obligation to the Province. Among the outstanding Province achievers were Connis Koiner, Polemarch - Hofstra University Homecoming King and participant in the 1999 Northeastern Province Student of the Year Contest; Michael Boyd, Province Strategus; and James Davermann, member of Northeastern Province Board of Directors.